Catholic Women’s League Unit: Balic-Balic

In the year 2006, the Catholic Women’s League Most Holy Trinity Parish Unit of Balic-balic celebrated it’s 45th anniversary (March 30, 1961). The Catholic Women’s League was formerly called the “Federacion Catolica de Mujeres en Manila” and was established by Archbishop Michael J. O’Doherty of Manila in 1919.

The CWL Holy Trinity Parish unit started with 25 members belonging to the Filomena Legarda Health Center Senior Ladies Association. The first president was Delfina F. Maglasin and other elected presidents were the following: Consuelo V. Soriano (1962-63, 1964-65, 1968-69, 1970-71, 1974-’75, 1980-81, 1983-84, 1992-93, 1994-95), Natividad de la Chica (1966-67, 1968-69), Rufina C. Vinoya (1978-79). Gliceria Prado (1984-85, 1987-88, 1995-96), Presentacion C. Bayaras (1988-89), Rosita Crisostomo (1990-93), and Cresensia Ranjo (1998-99).

Image: Catholic Women’s League Most Holy Trinity Parish Unit (1963), photo courtesy of Rufina C. Vinoya Family.

Mrs. Delfina Magsalin. the first president, was supported by Mrs. Mercedes Quintos (Vice-President), Mrs. Rita Laxamana (Secretary), Mrs. Elisea Laygo (Asst. Secretary), Mrs. Conchita Gargantiel (Treasurer), Mrs. Consuelo Soriano (Asst. Treasurer), Mrs. Pelagia Villamil, Mrs. Anna Pascaul, and Mrs. Victoria Vermudez (Board Members). Members of CWL included the following: Mrs. Teresa Antonio, Mrs. Concordia Auxillo, Mrs. Socorro Vejerano, Mrs. Eustaquia Cortez, Mrs. Jacinta Diomampo, Mrs. Belen Fernandez, Mrs. Pacencia L. Jayme, Mrs. Cristeta Lopez, Mrs. Carmen Limpin, Mrs. Damiana C. Miranda, Mrs. Emilia Garcia, Mrs. Jovita Mauricio, Mrs. Gloria Pacete, Mrs. Teresa Pascua, Mrs. Cristina Protacio, Mrs. Lourdes Regalado, Mrs. Dolores Salle, Mrs. Felicidad Salvador, Mrs. Donata Manansala, Mrs. Eulogia Ventura, and Mrs. Julita Pascor.

However, even before 1961, parishioners of Balic-balic already participated in the activities of the Catholic Women’s League and might even have a unit that existed prior to the 1961 Most Holy Trinity Parish unit. The photo below shows the 1936 Balic-Balic delegation to the CWL 8th Annual Convention held on Feb 9-10,1936. Standing from the left are two of the founders of the Most Holy Trinity Academy, Isabel Ramos and Trinidad Alfiler-Domingo.

Image: Balic-Balic Unit Delegation to C.W.L. Eight Annual Convention, Malacanang Palace Grounds, Feb 9, 1936. Photo taken courtesy of Trinidad Alfiler-Domingo Family.

~ by Martin Gaerlan on August 12, 2006.

2 Responses to “Catholic Women’s League Unit: Balic-Balic”

  1. that’s my lola…conchita gargantiel!!!

  2. Shiela, Thank you for visiting the website. We welcome your stories about your lola conchita.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: